Berchtesgaden und Watzmann

Hiking routes in Berchtesgaden with hiking maps in 3D

The Berchtesgadener Land is located in the extreme south of Bavaria directly on the border with Salzburg and is an Eldorado for hikers and mountaineers. Whether a simple hike with children or a challenging ascent to the summit - the central town of Berchtesgaden is the starting point for hiking tours of various levels of difficulty. In the middle of the breathtakingly beautiful nature of the Berchtesgaden Alpine National Park, you hike across the lush meadows of the alpine pastures, climb high above the tree line on bare rock or take a relaxing stroll on the majestic Königssee. Read here in our guide how varied the hiking tours in Berchtesgaden are and look at them on the 3D hiking map or in the app!

half-circle-icon

Berchtesgaden Alps: All information at a glance

The Berchtesgaden Alps extend from the BAB8 / A1 in the north to Mühlbach am Hochkönig in the south and from Lofer in the west to Salzach in the east. They belong to the Northern Eastern Alps and are mainly known for the central massif of the Watzmann and the Königssee below. The town of Berchtesgaden is located at 570 meters and is the starting point for numerous easy and difficult hikes and multi-day hut tours.

 

Highest mountain: Hochkönig 2.941 m

 

Location: cross-border between Bavaria, Germany and Salzburg, Austria

 

Geology: Wetterstein limestone, Ramsau dolomite, Dachstein limestone

Contact Berchtesgadener Land Tourismus GmbH: Maximilianstr. 9, 83471 Berchtesgaden

Telefon: +49 8652 / 65 65 050

St. Bartholomä, Königssee und Watzmann

half-circle-icon

Easy hiking tours with children and dogs

Wimbachklamm

High alpine terrain and gentle mountain nature are close together in Berchtesgaden. That is why there are numerous easy hiking tours, which are particularly suitable for families with children or hikers with dogs due to their beautiful viewpoints and refreshment stops.


Tipp: Take the ship across the Königssee to St. Bartholomä and hike from there to the ice chapel. Or just get off at the Salet terminus and follow the beautiful riverside path along the Obersee to the rustic Fischunkelalm - an often enjoyed hike.

half-circle-icon

Mountain adventure with a summit victory: promising routes

Ambitious mountain hikers are in good hands in Berchtesgaden. The mountains do not reach the 3000 meter mark here. But the region doesn't have to hide in terms of its beauty and sporting challenges. In addition to the three “monarchs” Watzmann, Hochkalter and Hoher Göll, the most popular summit hikes with great panoramic views include numerous smaller neighbors such as the Schneibstein, the Schartenspitze and the Hohe Brett.

 

Tipp: Mountain bikers also get their money's worth in the Berchtesgaden National Park. The demanding tour to the Gotzenalm is particularly worthwhile. The smallest translation is often used here. But the spectacular view at the finish and the long descent compensate for the exertion in the hairpin bends.

Am Gipfel der Schönfeldspitze

half-circle-icon

Berchtesgaden Via Ferratas for beginners and professionals

Hikers with a love of via ferratas will find worthwhile destinations around Berchtesgaden. The Schützensteig on Jenner is already suitable for beginners and children from the age of eight. It is easy to walk on and yet very scenic. In contrast, the Berchtesgadener Hochthronsteig should only be climbed by experienced and fit mountaineers. Because the difficult sport via ferrata is provided with wire ropes and step bars throughout and is located in difficulty level C / D. The most varied is the Grünstein via ferrata directly at the Königssee, which leads to the summit of the Grünstein via several routes. The simplest variant is called Isidor-Steig, although here the difficulty level B / C should not be underestimated. Experienced in the rock can try an extremely challenging summit wall with overhanging passages in the D + to E range.

Auf dem dritten Watzmannkind

half-circle-icon

FAQ: Frequently asked questions about hikes in Berchtesgaden

The German part of the Berchtesgaden Alps is completely covered by the Berchtesgaden National Park. Since many tourists visit him, it is particularly important to follow the rules that are usual in the protected area: therefore do not leave the marked paths, do not pick flowers, do not smoke, do not light a fire, keep your dog on a leash and keep calm. By the way: The Austrian part of the Berchtesgaden Alps is also strictly protected - in the Kalkhochalpen nature reserve.

For all hiking tours in and around Berchtesgaden, hiking shoes / mountain boots and clothing appropriate to the weather are required. Since the weather in the alpine region can change quickly, rainwear and sun protection are just as important in your backpack as sufficient liquid and energy-rich snacks for in between. If you want to climb a via ferrata, you also need a via ferrata set with harness and helmet.

You can find detailed maps for all hikes in the Berchtesgaden Alps in the 3D Outdoor Guides app. In addition to the panorama map in 3D, you can also understand the individual tours.

You can use several mountain railways around Berchtesgaden to overcome a few meters of altitude faster on a hike or simply enjoy the panorama at the mountain station. The Jennerbahn in Schönau am Königssee is open to hikers in summer and, depending on snow conditions, brings skiers to the popular panoramic mountain from late November to early April. A few kilometers away in Ramsau the route of the Hirscheck-Sesselbahn leads to the family-friendly skiing and hiking area Hochschwarzeck. The Obersalzbergbahn which was opened in 1949 in Berchtesgaden is in operation all year round except for short inspection times The nostalgic flair with the gondolas, which are not completely closed, particularly inspires families who use the summer toboggan run or their own sled depending on the season.

Download app for free now

Close Menu

Berchtesgaden und Watzmann

Wanderrouten in Berchtesgaden mit Wanderkarten in 3D

Das Berchtesgadener Land liegt im äußersten Süden Bayerns direkt an der Grenze zu Salzburg und ist ein Eldorado für Wanderer und Bergsteiger. Ob einfache Wanderung mit Kindern oder herausfordernde Gipfelbesteigung – der zentrale Ort Berchtesgaden ist Startpunkt für Wandertouren unterschiedlicher Schwierigkeitsgrade. Mitten in der atemberaubend schönen Natur des alpinen Nationalparks Berchtesgaden wanderst du über die satten Wiesen der Almen, kletterst hoch über der Baumgrenze auf nacktem Felsen oder spazierst ganz entspannt am majestätischen Königssee. Lese hier in unserem Ratgeber, wie vielfältig die Wandertouren in Berchtesgaden sind und sieh dir diese auf der 3D-Wanderkarte oder in der App an!

half-circle-icon

Berchtesgadener Alpen: Alle Infos im Überblick

Die Berchtesgadener Alpen erstrecken sich von der BAB8/A1 im Norden bis Mühlbach am Hochkönig im Süden sowie von Lofer im Westen bis zur Salzach im Osten. Sie gehören zu den Nördlichen Ostalpen und sind vor allem durch das zentrale Massiv des Watzmanns und den darunter liegenden Königssee bekannt. Der Ort Berchtesgaden liegt auf 570 Metern und ist Ausgangspunkt für zahlreiche einfache und schwere Wanderungen sowie mehrtägige Hüttentouren.

 

Höchster Berg: Hochkönig 2.941 m

 

Lage: grenzüberschreitend zwischen Bayern, Deutschland und Salzburg, Österreich

 

Gestein: Wettersteinkalk, Ramsaudolomit, Dachsteinkalk

Kontakt Berchtesgadener Land Tourismus GmbH: Maximilianstr. 9, 83471 Berchtesgaden

Telefon: +49 8652 / 65 65 050

St. Bartholomä, Königssee und Watzmann

half-circle-icon

Einfache Wandertouren mit Kind und Hund

Wimbachklamm

Hochalpines Gelände und sanfte Bergnatur liegen in Berchtesgaden nah beieinander. Deshalb gibt es auch zahlreiche einfache Wandertouren, die sich aufgrund ihrer schönen Aussichtsplätzen und Einkehrmöglichkeiten für Familien mit Kindern oder Wanderer mit Hunden besonders eignen.


Tipp: Fahre mit dem Schiff über den Königssee bis nach St. Bartholomä und wandere von dort zur Eiskapelle. Oder steige erst an der Endstation Salet aus und folge dem schönen Uferweg entlang des Obersees zur rustikalen Fischunkelalm – eine oft begangene Genusswanderung.

half-circle-icon

Bergabenteuer mit Gipfelsieg: aussichtsreiche Routen

Ambitionierte Bergwanderer sind in Berchtesgaden gut aufgehoben. Zwar erreichen die Berge die 3000-Meter-Marke hier nicht. Doch hinsichtlich ihrer Schönheit und der sportlichen Herausforderungen muss sich die Region nicht verstecken. Zu den beliebtesten Gipfelwanderungen mit tollen Panoramaausblicken zählen neben den drei „Monarchen“ Watzmann, Hochkalter und Hoher Göll zahlreiche kleinere Nachbarn, wie der Schneibstein, die Schärtenspitze und das Hohe Brett.

 

Tipp: Im Nationalpark Berchtesgaden kommen auch Mountainbiker auf ihre Kosten. Vor allem die anspruchsvolle Tour auf die Gotzenalm ist lohnenswert. Hier ist die kleinste Übersetzung oft im Einsatz. Doch die spektakuläre Aussicht am Ziel und die langgestreckte Abfahrt entschädigen für die Strapazen in den Serpentinen.

Am Gipfel der Schönfeldspitze

half-circle-icon

Berchtesgadener Klettersteige für Anfänger und Profis

Wanderer mit einer Vorliebe für Klettersteige finden rund um Berchtesgaden lohnenswerte Ziele. Der Schützensteig am Jenner ist bereits für Anfänger und Kinder ab acht Jahren geeignet. Er ist leicht begehbar und dennoch landschaftlich sehr schön. Im Gegensatz dazu sollte der Berchtesgadener Hochthronsteig nur von erfahrenen und konditionsstarken Bergsteigern begangen werden. Denn der schwierige Sportklettersteig ist durchgehend mit Drahtseilen und Trittbügeln versehen und im Schwierigkeitsgrad C/D angesiedelt. Am vielfältigsten ist der Grünstein-Klettersteig direkt am Königssee, der über mehrere Routen auf den Gipfel des Grünsteins führt. Die einfachste Variante heißt Isidor-Steig, wobei auch hier der Schwierigkeitsgrad B/C nicht unterschätzt werden darf. Im Felsen Geübte können sich an einer äußerst anspruchsvollen Gipfelwand mit überhängenden Passagen im Bereich D+ bis E versuchen.

Auf dem dritten Watzmannkind

half-circle-icon

FAQ: Häufig gestellte Fragen zu Wanderungen in Berchtesgaden

Der deutsche Teil der Berchtesgadener Alpen wird vom Nationalpark Berchtesgaden komplett abgedeckt. Da ihn sehr viele Touristen besuchen, ist es besonders wichtig, die im Schutzgebiet üblichen Regeln einzuhalten: Verlasse deshalb nicht die markierten Wege, pflücke keine Blumen, rauche nicht, entzünde kein Feuer, leine deinen Hund an und verhalte dich ruhig. Übrigens: Auch der österreichische Teil der Berchtesgadener Alpen ist streng geschützt – im Naturschutzgebiet Kalkhochalpen.

Für alle Wandertouren in und um Berchtesgaden sind Wanderschuhe/Bergstiefel und der Witterung angemessene Kleidung Voraussetzung. Da das Wetter im alpinen Raum schnell umschlagen kann, gehören Regenbekleidung und Sonnenschutz genauso in den Rucksack wie genügend Flüssigkeit und energiereiche Snacks für zwischendurch. Wer einen Klettersteig begehen will, braucht zudem ein Klettersteigset mit Gurt und Helm.

Detailliertes Kartenmaterial für alle Wanderungen in den Berchtesgadener Alpen findest du in der 3D Outdoor Guides App. Neben der Panoramakarte in 3D kannst du darin auch die einzelnen Touren nachvollziehen.

Rund um Berchtesgaden kannst du mehrere Bergbahnen nutzen, um einige Höhenmeter auf einer Wanderung schneller zu überwinden oder auf der Bergstation einfach das Panorama zu genießen. Die Jennerbahn in Schönau am Königssee ist im Sommer für Wanderer geöffnet und bringt im Winter je nach Schneelage ab Ende November bis Anfang April Skifahrer auf den beliebten Aussichtsberg. Wenige Kilometer entfernt in Ramsau führt die Trasse der Hirscheck-Sesselbahn ins familienfreundliche Ski- und Wandergebiet Hochschwarzeck. Die 1949 eröffnete Obersalzbergbahn in Berchtesgaden ist bis auf kurze Revisionszeiten ganzjährig in Betrieb. Durch ihr nostalgisches Flair mit den nicht komplett geschlossenen Gondeln begeistert Sie vor allem Familien, die für die Talfahrt je nach Jahreszeit die Sommerrodelbahn oder den eigenen Schlitten nutzen.

App jetzt kostenlos herunterladen

Menü schließen